Alexander Zemlinsky Endowment Fund
of the Society of Friends of Music in Viennaa
Alexander Zemlinsky Prize/Advancement Award

The Alexander Zemlinsky Endowment Fund of the Society of Friends of Music in Vienna was endowed by Alexander Zemlinsky`s widow, Louise Zemlinsky. After her death in 1992, all rights to the works of Zemlinsky fell to the Endowment Fund.

The purpose of the Endowment Fund is the ideational and financial sponsorship and dissemination of the works of Alexander Zemlinsky, the support of scientific endeavors about his work and his influence as well as the source-critical edition of his compositions which are published by Universal Edition Vienna and Ricordi Munich.

Members of the Endowment Fund Committee are:
Peter Marboe (chairman)
Thomas Angyan
Christoph von Dohnányi
Hartmut Krones
Susanne Rode-Breymann
Peter Ruzicka (deputy chairman)
Dr. Stephan Pauly

The Alexander Zemlinsky Prize, amounting to € 30,000, has been awarded in irregular intervals for meritorious service to Alexander Zemlinsky and his creative output. Laureates are the Hamburg State Opera, the Vienna Volksoper, the conductors Riccardo Chailly and James Conlon and the musicologist, Antony Beaumont.

In addition, there is the Alexander Zemlinsky Advancement Award amounting to
€ 4,000 (€ 8,000 for ensembles).

The Advancement Award went to the Artis Quartet (1997), the dramatic advisor, Uwe Sommer (2001),
the mezzo-soprano, Hermine Haselböck (2005), the Zemlinsky Quartett (2008),
as well as to the Zemlinsky Trio (2017).